Beer decisions part II

So, in an earlier post I mentioned the trials of choosing suitable beer to take when visiting one’s beer-savvy friends. I chose a nice selection of beers I had not tried this last weekend, all in all good drinking. But the two that I was really excited to try let me down a bit. First, a recommendation at John’s grocery was the Unibroue “Terrible.” It was a solid beer, a dark brown belgian with fruity undertones. It was good but not great. In fact, its taste was quite similar to CBD’s last two bottles of Trappist homebrew that we were privileged to share–but truth is, I think CBD’s was better (mmmm, trappist homebrew good…). The Unibroue didn’t hold up past the first sip or two for me (Oh, don’t get me wrong, I drank it just fine). I also took a Green Flash tripel that I was really excited about. I had recently sampled their amazing IPA and was looking forward to the tripel, but it was a beer that didn’t quite come together for me. Or, as CBD said, “it’s trying too hard.” It’s a challenge to try out untested beers when really wanting to share the Wow factor. On the other hand, it’s still good to taste new beers with good friends. And really the quest for the wow beer flavor is nearly as important as the beer itself (did I just say that? Huh? Okay, we can stick with “nearly”) Besides, how often do you get to jam with the crazy miss madelyn?

Jammin with Madelyn

Yes, good times were had by all.

2 Responses to “Beer decisions part II”

  1. cbdilger Says:

    OTOH, the Avery beers were solid!

  2. GJF Says:

    Indeed, Avery was a good new find.

Leave a Reply

