So this is spring

Yesterday was the first day of my spring break, and the whole day was a gray, drizzly, snowy washout. Today everything is coated with an inch of snow. 19 degrees right now and the sun is a dazzling mid-winter flash. I love winter, but I was certainly ready for it to be done. This is not exactly how I envisioned starting spring break, but I must say it’s a breathtaking morning. If I were one to wake a little more quickly (I’m up early, but that doesn’t mean I’m really awake until mid-morning) I’d have gotten the camera and snapped a few shots. Frankly, I’m more concerned with the next cup of coffee and staring out at the dazzling sight–and breathe a sigh of relief that I can already see it dripping away and remember that just a few days ago, I was taking stock of the bulbs that were starting to sprout around the yard, the sedum that were just starting to break out, and the first shoots of lilies and daisies starting to appear. By noon I’m guessing the snow will be gone, unlike a mere month ago where every inch kept piling up on themselves showing no signs of disappearing. Just a gentle reminder, I guess, but I’m not so sure of what…

2 Responses to “So this is spring”

  1. cbdilger Says:

    Stuff’s poking out of the ground here, finally, and my neighbor’s lawn is about 2/3 of the way through its green flash…

  2. GJF Says:

    It’s still brown, brown, brown here with a lovely thick layer of grit of sand and salt over the roads and sidewalks. But, indeed, things poking out of the ground gives me hope. I’m sure those gardens of yours are amazing come spring!

Leave a Reply

