It’s why we work so hard, right?

MB and I have been trying to work out a trip west for June during that window when I’m not teaching and she isn’t yet into the thick of fall book orders and it just hasn’t been happening.  It got very frustrating and we were coming up with all kinds of other plans, but really California’s been our goal this year.  So I finally said, screw it, let’s just go before my school year’s done.  It’s the nice thing about Cornell’s schedule (and those loyal readers out there already know those things that I think aren’t so nice) that I can shift and manipulate my work load so that I can take a little time.  It’s not ideal and I’ll probably spend a lot more time on computer than I really want to on vacation, but it’s going to be a good trip.

The plan is to fly into San Francisco, spend a day or two there, then make a big loop up the coast and down through sonoma wine country.  Not sure how far up we’ll make it given time constraints–Eureka is dubious–but we’ll make it up past Fort Bragg and do some hiking and exploring in some of the redwoods there.  If we can make it up to Humboldt State Park to see the big reserves of redwoods, that will be great, but if not we’ll still be happy.  So the goal is coast, redwoods, beer, wine.  Breweries that are definitely on the slate include North Coast, Anderson Valley, Bear Republic, Russian River, Marin, and Thirsty Bear.  Feel free to suggest any others that we definitely shouldn’t miss.  Wineries we’re going to be more spontaneous about.

Like I say, it’s not the best timing and I’ll probably spend too much time fretting about the things I should be doing, but we both need to get away and see something new about now.  Watch this same bat channel for brewpub reviews!

3 Responses to “It’s why we work so hard, right?”

  1. Jeff Says:

    Russian River! I’m jealous.

    Check this out:
    http://russianriverbrewing.com/wordpress/

    I’d love to get my hands on those three beauties.

  2. Tony Says:

    You really need to make it up as far as Eureka on your trip. There are five main reasons besides the redwoods:

    Eel River Brewery
    Lost Coast Brewery
    Mad River Brewery
    Humboldt Brewery
    Six Rivers Brewery

    My curren favorite: Mad River Double IPA

  3. GJF Says:

    Hey Tony, thanks for the word on breweries. I certainly had eel river and lost coast in my sights, but didn’t know about the others.
    Any idea how long it would take to drive from, say, Fort Bragg to Eureka?

Leave a Reply

