Dogfish

So I promise not to turn this blog into a post-flood requiem. To that end, I shift gears back to the truly important matters, like beer.

MB and I recently went back to Maryland to celebrate my Dad’s 80th birthday. Glad to say he’s in great shape and still kickin’ in high gear. There was a big bash, but our real mission was to go to one of the Dogfish Head franchise bars that has opened not two miles from my folks’ in Gaithersburg Maryland. In fact, it was our first stop in town.

That’s Mom and Dad, mom with a Lawnmower Light (she was a good sport, but this was not the bar for her in terms of beer) and Dad with a Shelter Pale Ale. That’s MB’s 90-Minute IPA in the foreground, mmmm….

And that’s me, sleepy from travel, but thoroughly enjoying a Raison D’Etre. Nothing like a pint of that stuff to kick an afternoon into gear. I also had their Indian Brown which was surprisingly nice, says the man who doesn’t generally go for Browns. It had a unique spice to it.

Now, as much as I love Dogfish Beers (and they are indeed some of my favorites), I was hoping for something much more from the brewpub. It really was a fairly standard fern bar, although the vegetarian options for food were certainly above par. What I was really bummed about, though, was that they had none of the harder to find beers that I really wanted to try. The Raison D’etre was superb to get on tap, but they didn’t have the Raison D’extra. The 90-minute is one of the best beers around, and it was a pleasure to have on tap, but I was looking forward to tasting the 120-minute. The spring Aprihop was done. No Immort Ale. No Black & Blue, no Red & White, no worldwide stout, and none of the “brewpub exclusives.” Again, I don’t begrudge Dogfish anything here (just keeping brewing big strong beers, guys!) but I really thought that the brewpub would offer a bigger range of their beers. Oh well, I guess I have to go to Delaware.

Anyway, it was a great way to open up the weekend festivities for my Dad. Looking forward to many more Birthday visits to come!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Dogfish”

  1. Linda Miller Says:

    Hey there,
    Ghost from the past. Found your blog & started reading. Glad to hear your folks are doing well! And cool to see a picture of them. I work (day job) not far from them (at least if they still live where they used to.) The email website address I gave you is a side job doing live sound reinforcement that I love very much – 3 years now. I’ve met some very cool folks. Living in the house where I grew up. My folks have passed on. I’ve had lunch several times in this Dogfish Head restaurant. Fern Bar describes it well, but it’s OK for a workday lunch. Would love to talk to you more sometime, can you send me a note? Hope all is well with you, my best to MB. – Linda

Leave a Reply

