The Madison Haul

We had been planning to go to Saint Louis this last weekend, get away from the ever-present flood remnants for awhile, go to Schlafly etc. It’s about a 5 hour trip for us going down Route 61.  It might be a tad quicker going interstate down toward Peoria, but highway 61 is part of the appeal, a beautiful drive down through the Missouri bluffs along the river, a stop in Hannibal etc. The Iowa DOT though was a little sketchy on continued detours and bridge closures due to the floods, so we weren’t sure how much extra time the trip was going to take.  We decided it would be better to wait until the roads are definitely clear.

I found myself Saturday morning, then, unsure of what to do with our weekend when MB suggested going to Madison for the night. I’m always game for Madison (It’s a great town and a pretty easy drive) but we get there fairly often and I wasn’t sure about it. I asked MB why she thought Madison and she said, “Well, I’d really like to get that Sayur Lodeh (coconut soup) at Bandung.” OK, I thought, I can see the appeal. It’s a fabulous Indonesian restaurant and we can’t get it around here. Then she added, “I’m also worried about your beer supply running low. I thought we could check out the beer store that Bradley suggested.” It was a great reminder of why I love this woman so much!! Yes, she was worried about my beer supply, sigh….

So, off we went to Madison. I don’t think our haul at Steve’s was as big as Bradley’s recent haul, but we did pretty well:

Bells Hopslam
Bells Two-Hearted Ale
Lakefront Brewing IPA
Avery The Reverend Quadrupel
Andersonville Brother David’s Tripel
Lagunitas IPA
Lagunitas Maximus
Lagunitas Lumpy Gravy
Tyrenena Bitter Woman IPA
Tyrenena Chief Blackhawk Porter
Bear Republic Hop Rod Rye Ale
Bear Republic Black Bear Stout
Bear Republic XP Ale
Stone Ruination IPA
Stone Arrogant Bastard
Ale Asylum Hopalicious
Ale Asylum Contorter Porter

All seems right with the world. Steve’s is indeed a well-stocked store and worth the visit. They don’t have the Belgian stock like John’s Grocery in Iowa City does, so we’ll still just hop down to John’s for the Belgians, but I liked the west coast supply of beers like Bear Republic and Stone. Yumm. And indeed we had a good dinner at Bandung and some good beers at Great Dane Brewing. I’ve been to Great Dane quite a few times and really enjoy the place and have always been fond of their beers. I must say that this time something seemed a little off, though. Some of their bigger beers were lacking body. For instance, their Texas Speedbump IPA, which has a ton of hop flavor, was surprisingly watery in body. As was the ESB. Their APA, though, was quite nice and creamy. And I had a Belgian Pale that started out on the watery side but really filled out as it warmed up a little. Nice, spicy pale. Now we’re back to being money poor but beer rich. I think a nice mid-summer cook-out tonight with some Hopslam is in order. Sigh…

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “The Madison Haul”

  1. jeff Says:

    I’m on your trail. We are stopping at chez dilger and then going to Madison this week. I’m looking to bring back Ale Asylum and New Glarus (missing from your list…)

    If you do go to St Louis, stop by in Columbia. We are two hours west, in the middle of Kansas City and St Louis.

    The new Lagunitas We’re Only In It for the Money is supposed to be out now…if you go to St Louis, I’ll show you a place five minutes away in Illinois that stocks Lagunitas (plus there are some good places in St Louis for beer shopping).

  2. GJF Says:

    We actually had a pretty good stash of New Glarus beers from a recent visit to another town in WI. I’m also planning a separate trip later this summer or fall to go specifically to New Glarus and check out their spiffy new brewery and figure I’ll stock up then. I also tried their Organic Revolution when we were in Madison–good beer, but not one of their best.
    If your upcoming travels come through Iowa, let me know.

  3. cbdilger Says:

    Separate trip to New Glarus? When? Do tell.

  4. GJF Says:

    Not sure yet when to go to New Glarus–should we meet there sometime?

Leave a Reply

