Join the Pain

I have always been blessed with ridiculously good health.  I don’t get sick.  When I get hurt I heal incredibly fast.  On the other side of the scale, MB who takes really good care of herself has been burdened with many unfortunate health circumstances that have given her an unfair share of pain and turmoil over the years.  It has been difficult to watch at times, but both of us have been thankful for my health.  Well, the wheel turns I suppose.  This summer I had some shoulder pain and spasms that a therapist worked through with me.  I had felt really good with no pain for about two months. Then suddenly about two weeks ago the left side of my body went into excruciating, crippling pain, migrating across my back then down my arm and eventually leaving my left hand immobilized, numb and with no motor control (I’m slowly learning to type one-handed again).  Just went to see a neurosurgeon who said the pain was unfortunate but not dangerous; the hand, however, meant I have nerve damage from a ruptured disc in my neck.  He said don’t fuck with it.  Without surgery it could be permanent, an idea that scares me more than the surgery itself.  So, Monday, I’ll go and get my neck operated on.  I’m scared, yes, but I trust it will be worth it.  As is, I can barely function these days, so here I go.  I’m sorry my wife has gone through this kind of pain for so many years, but on the other hand I’m glad to have someone who knows what it’s like by my side.  Now, my big question is can I function enough to bottle my Russian Imperial Stout and my maple winter warmer that need to be bottled.  If I can’t get them done this weekend, they won’t get bottled for at least two more months.  Hey, nobody can tell me I haven’t at least kept my priorities!

Tags:

2 Responses to “Join the Pain”

  1. cbdilger Says:

    Sorry to hear this. If you want, I’ll come get the beers and bottle them for ya 🙂

    I too am re-learning to type with one hand–the other holding Amelia!

  2. Jeff Says:

    Sorry to hear that as well.

Leave a Reply

