Slowly Back in Business

Just thought I’d give a little post-surgery update.  The surgery went fine, although it hurts like the dickens.  Spent one night in the hospital and then they get you up and moving.  Since I’ve been home I’m trying to walk as much as I can (although it’s not a whole lot) and then enjoying some vicodin-induced naps in the afternoon.  I’ve been able to work over the computer, but fortunately Jen Rouse, a fine poet who works in our library, was able to take over classes for me last week.  I’m going to attempt to go back to campus on monday, although I reserve the right to say it’s too soon at the last minute.  I go back to get staples removed a week from monday.  So now I’ve got about six weeks of no lifting (no house cleaning, darn it all!) and limited mobility, but I should be able to get around pretty normally.  The initial result seemed pretty good.  The nerve pain in shoulder and arm was gone, but the use of my left hand was still severely limited.  Doc gave it about an 80% shot that it would slowly return to normal (from a week to 18 months was the range he gave me).  The 20% there certainly still scares me, but we’ll cross that bridge if/when it becomes a reality.  Till then I’m going on the assumption that use of my hand will all come back.  On the other hand (no pun intended), the last two nights I’ve had muscle spasms in shoulder and upper arm that are reminiscent of the original pain.  Hard to tell if it’s the return of the nerve problem or just a result of the surgery and starting to use those muscles again.  I’m opting for the latter and trust it will clear up as I’m able to regain mobility and muscle strength (incredible how fast muscles start to atrophy!).  So, that’s the news from here.   It ain’t no fun, but I know it could be a whole lot worse, too.  And best of all, my wife helped me bottle my stout and winter warmer before surgery so I can sit and watch it age to perfection.  I’ll let you know how it tastes in a month or so.

Leave a Reply

