Whatever Happened to Phil?

So it appears that Phil Spector is going to spend the rest of his life in jail–or at a minimum 19 years, but I’m guessing it will be the rest of his life.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m pretty sure the jury got the right verdict on this (although I would never convict someone based on what we get in the media) and he deserves absolutely everything he will get, but that doesn’t stop me from also being a bit sad. What the hell happened to him?  This is the originator of the Wall of Sound.  This is the man who produced over 25 top 40 hits–many of them actual classics. This is the man who produced the likes of the Ronettes, Gene Pitney, Ben E. King, Ike and Tina Turner, The Righteous Brothers, Leonard Cohen, and the Ramones. This is the man that, most importantly to me, produced the Beatles’ Let it Be, and followed that with John Lennon’s Plastic Ono Band, and Imagine.  He also produced The Concert for Bangladesh and George Harrison’s All Things Must Pass–one of the best albums of all time, and the epitome of what the Wall of Sound could do. I shake my head and ask again, what the hell happened to him? I know, I could make funny jokes about his crazy wigs–he took to wearing some pretty crazy wigs after an accident left him with about 300 stitches in the back of his head–or I could make comments about how Spector has changed his party affiliation as many people have done recently on blogs around the country. But I’m sad that a life like this could come to such disgusting ends.  I feel for his girlfriend’s family and friends and I wonder how I’ll  listen to All Things Must Pass any more.

Phil Spectorc. LA Times

PHIL SPECTOR: Rock Genius Sentenced to 19 Years to Life for Killing his Girlfriend

Tags:

Leave a Reply

