Aging Homebrew

Over a year and a half ago, I brewed a seriously dark, rich, high alcohol Imperial Stout. It was very good but frankly didn’t seem to be aging all that well. So I mostly drank it up. About 6 months ago, I thought it had passed its prime getting a kind of acidic sourness (not that lovely sour we like in some Belgian styles) and I drank a few and ignored the rest. I was cleaning out the basement the other day and stumbled upon the last 6 pack and opened one last night. Oh, if I only had patience. It’s a whole new beer, rich and creamy with a deep roasted backbone–and all that acid and sourness are gone. It’s a great beer and now I’m lamenting having drunk any at all months ago. Now what to do? Drink those last precious few or see what happens to them in a few more months? Dilemmas, dilemmas.

Leave a Reply

