Imperial IPA

Nothing like starting out the new year with a big, bold, hoppy beer fermenting in the basement, right? So for the occasion I brewed an Imperial IPA today.

Today’s recipe:
Steeped 12 oz. caramel pils, 4 oz Briess Caramel 120, 1 1/2 gallons 170 degree water for 20 minutes.
Sparged with 1 gallon cold water.
Brought to boil.
12 lbs Pilsen malt syrup boiled for 60 minutes.
1 oz Summit hops, 18.5%, 60 minutes
1 oz Centennial hops, 9.2% 30 minutes
1 oz Cascade hops, 6.1% 10 minutes
1 oz Glacier hops, 5.6%, 2 minutes
1 oz Glacier hops, 5.6%, after boil
Cooled to room temp and brought volume to 5 gallons.
Pitched a 1 quart starter of Wyeast 1056, American ale yeast.
Added 1 tbsp calcium carbonate.
Aerate vigorously to get yeast started.

The finished wort tasted very rich with tons of malt and hop flavor. I think this could be really good. I’ll taste before I put into secondary fermenter and decide whether to add some dry hops or not (most likely will). Here’s to 2011!

Also, I’ve been drinking the IPA I brewed awhile back. I have to say it’s one of my best beers to date–a really well-balanced but intense beer with a fresh hop flavor to it. I’m loving it. Just bottled my dubbel the other day and it is also tasting very promising. It’s a little lighter in body than I’d planned and it’s a little more phenolic than I’d hoped, but it’s still aging. I think a few weeks will soften it and carbonation will help flesh it out–I’m looking forward to it.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

